How to block someone on LinkedIn in 2021

LinkedIn is a great social media platform for professionals to communicate with each other for various jobs, companies, and other professional-related topics.

Most of the time we add people on LinkedIn to get some referrals or connections to gain information but not all of them are good profiles to connect with.

So we think of block someone on LinkedIn.

it allows members (both workers and employers) to create profiles and connections to each other in an online social network that may represent real-world professional relationships.

Members can invite anyone to become a connection.

There can be instances when people send you annoying promotional strategy messages or inappropriate messages on LinkedIn which you do not like to get.

Then it’s better to block that person on LinkedIn. And today we are going to learn that how can we block someone on LinkedIn.

So let get to know the steps to follow on how to block someone on LinkedIn or block any company on LinkedIn. Or how can we block anyone?

How to Block someone on LinkedIn With and Without Viewing there Profile

Step 1:

Go to LinkedIn Page from here. Then log in to your Profile. Once you are logged into your account go to the person you want to block.

Once you are on the person’s profile whom you want to block and then you will get to know to block someone on LinkedIn.

Step 2:

After you are on the person’s profile page whom you want to block. You can see a button near his profile photo on the right side named “More”.

Click on the “More” as displayed in the below image. Once you have clicked on More Button you can see a list of options such as Share profile via Message, Save to PDF, Give Kudos, Request a Recommendation, Recommend, Un-follow, Remove Connection, Report/Block.

How to block someone on LinkedIn
More Options on LinkedIn

Step 3:

Click on Report/Block Button on the More Menu option. Select Block XXXX (Person’s Name). You will see the message below that you will no longer be connected and will not be able to message each other or see each other’s profiles and updates.

how to block someone on linkedin
Select Block Option on the Pop-Up

Step 4:

Finally, you will get a final message box with two-button as Go Back and Block. Select Block and finally the person is completely blocked and he or you will no longer be able to contact each other.

How to block someone on LinkedIn
Finally, select Block to completely block someone.

And nor you guys can message each other in the future. It’s always good to block and report profile’s looks fake or do wrong things on LinkedIn.

The above steps can be performed to block groups on LinkedIn. Also, you can block a company similarly by opening the company profile page and selecting all the options as taught above.

What happens when you block someone on Linkedin?

When you are blocking someone on Linkedin then you are telling or informing LinkedIn that you do not want that person to find your profile while he searches for you on their website.

The blocked user will not be able to connect with you on the LinkedIn website until you unblock him. For him, you will be a completely unavailable person on the website.

How to Unblock someone LinkedIn

Now you don’t want to visit the person’s profile and yet you want to unblock him. Then you can follow the below steps to get a person unblocked on LinkedIn without opening a profile. Let’s start.

Step 1:

Again Go to your LinkedIn Page and log in to your account. Once you are logged into your account. Select your profile photo on the top to get the drop-down list. Select Account and Privacy Settings.

How to Unblock someone LinkedIn
Settings and Privacy

Step 2:

Scroll down, you can see that the Blocking and Hiding heading is written. Select Blocking on the options. There you can see the list of profiles you have blocked. Select unblock.

How to Unblock someone LinkedIn
Option where List of Blocked Person will be Displayed

Then that profile is unblocked and now you can start communicating with the person again. This scenario can occur when you mistakenly block someone whom you do not want to block.

That’s it for this learning for today. If you liked my post please read my other guide here. Also, if you have any suggestions or queries, or questions comment below I will reply as soon as possible.

Why Can’t LinkedIn let you Block certain People?

So, you are the owner of a group on LinkedIn and someone has joined that group and you want to block that person, in this case, LinkedIn may not allow you to block that person and the block option itself may not appear.

So, in this case, you may have to remove that person from the group, and then you will be able to block that person on Linkedin.

What happens if you Unblocked Someone?

After you have unblocked some person, you will be able to see the profile and it becomes unhidden from you. Also, once you have unblocked the person you will be able to exchange the message between you and another person.

But if you aren’t connected with the person whom you have unblocked in that case you need to re-connect with the person so that you can exchange the messages and let them know that you are open to communicating with them.

To connect with someone you have unblocked all you need to do is, go to their LinkedIn profile page and select connect button in blue color.

Once you have selected the button that person will get a notification that you want to connect with him. If he also wants to connect with you then he may accept the request to connect or refuse.

Please like, share, and follow our social media pages such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram. Also, subscribe to our YouTube channel to get so that in the future I can create videos for such content.

Also, please subscribe to our newsletter so that you should not miss any new articles or updates on our website. Also, this will help us grow and it will cost you nothing but to us it will motivate us.